Review : Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

“In addition to the P-38, there are four gifts, one for each of my friends. I want to say good-bye to them properly. I want to give them each something to remember me by. To let them know I really cared about them and I’m sorry I couldn’t be more than I was–that I couldn’t stick around–and that what’s going to happen today isn’t their fault.
Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol. Maybe one day he’ll believe that being different is okay, important even. But not today.”

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/775/69784074/files/2014/12/img_0487.jpg
I was so emotionally invested in this story. I couldn’t put it down. it’s a really dark book and it’s kinda hard to take it all in at the same time, but i just really needed to know how it would end. The character, Leonard Peacock, felt so freaking real. His voice was painfully broken and confused. I could feel all the pain and the sadness. It broke my heart and all i wanted to do is hug him. But he is also very smart and very lonely.
Matthew Quick is a great writer. His writing really gave a relatable voice to Leonard. Quick is capable of describing some of the darkest emotions and they felt so real. Not all the writers could sucessfully talk about such a dark subject but he did it and he did it well!
Overall, i think Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock was a quick emotional read. I like it a lot.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock : 4/5

Leave a Reply

