Review : Everything leads to you by Nina LaCour

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.
 

Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.”



First, i have to say that it was a cover buy for me and i knew nothing about the story. BUT JUST LOOK AT THAT COVER IT IS SO PRETTY!

but the story didn’t dissapointed. it was such a wonderful book. I really enjoyed the whole mystery aspect, it was intriguing and captivating. The romance was okay, i did find some part of it to be a bit overdone. Emi and Ava’s relationship felt weird to me, i did have a hard to believe in it. I still think it was cute, even if most of it was about Emi reminding Ava who her grandfather was. The ending was not my favorite part, things happened easily, everything just fit perfectly together. The story had some flaws, but i still really liked it.

The characters were interesting. I liked Emi alot. Love how creative she is and how hard she work for her art. She also had some relatable flaws that made her feel human. I really liked the fact that Emi’s sexuality was not the main point of the story, it’s not a big deal for the character of this book. I found that to be refreshing since most of the LGBT books are about the struggles of coming out. Charlotte was also a fun character to follow. Ava didn’t made lt for me. Maybe it’s because we only saw her from Emi’s POV(who’s in love with her), but she felt way to perfect to be real. I couldn’t connect with her. 

But the best part of this book, the one that really grab my attention is the setting. This book made me want to jump in a plan and go to LA. I absolutely love te whole movie making aspect. Emi’s job is so fascinating. Nina Lacour writes this part of her story with details, making it even more interesting. Emi is super passionate about her job and we get to see a different angle of movie making. I’m a big cinema fan so that was a really big plus from me. 

This book was a quick and fun contemporary. 

Everything Leads to you : 4/5

Leave a Reply

