Review : Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

“I am Outcast.The kids behind me laugh so loud I know they’re laughing about me. I can’t help myself. I turn around. It’s Rachel, surrounded by a bunch of kids wearing clothes from the Eastside Mall. Rachel Bruin, my ex-best friend. She stares at something above my left ear. Words climb up my throat. This was the girl who suffered through Brownies with me, who taught me how to swim, who understood about my parents, who didn’t make fun of my bedroom. If there is anyone in the entire galaxy I am dying to tell what really happened, it’s Rachel. My throat burns.

Her eyes meet mine for a second. “I hate you,” she mouths silently.

Melinda Sordino’s freshman year is off to a horrible start. She busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, and now her friends–and even strangers–all hate her. Months pass and things aren’t getting better. She’s a pariah. The lowest of the low. Avoided by everyone. But eventually, she’ll reveal what happened at the party. And when she finally speaks the truth, everything will change.”
  
Well, I was a bit dissapointed by this book to be honest, not because it was bad, but because i felt like nothing was really happening. it’s a very, very slow book. Nothing really happens in the first 150 pages… I had a hard time getting into it because of it. it’s only when she decide to talk that things gets interesting, but even then, things got wrapped up pretty easily. I felt like the ending was unrealistic. I’m glad that she finally finds her voice, but it all went down so quickly. The story is very dark, but I think it’s an important one even with all those flaws. The characters are okay, i cared about Melinda. I wanted everything to be okay for her. The writing was a bit dull. I did find some interesting quotes and all, but most of it felt pretty meh to me. I guess it matches the sad voice of Melinda, but it didn’t grabbed my attention like i was hoping for. The monologues were very dry and i just couldn’t enjoy it that much. Some parts of this story were very emotinal and well-done. 

Overall, this book was okay, but not fantastic. I would even say that it’s pretty boring in some parts. 

Speak : 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

