Review : We All Looked up by Tommy Wallach

“Before the asteroid we let ourselves be defined by labels:

The athlete, the outcast, the slacker, the overachiever. 
But then we all looked up and everything changed. 
They said it would be here in two months. That gave us two months to leave our labels behind. Two months to become something bigger than what we’d been, something that would last even after the end. 
Two months to really live.”

  
what I liked about it :

– the idea. The whole concept was interesting. I love the “we are going to die in two months, so what do we do?” setting. 

– It made me think. i love when books make me think about my life and myself. this one did a good job doing it. I found myself thinking about how I would act in this situation. How anybody would react in such a terrible time? This story made me ask myself a couple of spiritual questions and this is one of the reason why i didn’t hate this book entirely. 

– The ending. I enjoyed the ending very much and the fact that we’re not sure how everything ended up. I loved how sad but also hopeful the ending made me feel. overall a very well done ending.

What I disliked about it :

– the characters. i hate all four of our main characters. I found them boring and very cliché. I couldn’t connect with any of them. Peter was so empty and his storyline was dull. Anita was meh. Eliza was annoying. I don’t understand why Peter and Andy were falling for her, she had nothing extraordinary. Andy was not to bad, but still the stereotype was so strong i just couldn’t enjoy is character. This was the biggest flaw of the book, i had a hard time enjoying the book because of it.

– the storyline. The concept is great, but i don’t think it was very well done. I got bored during many parts. we also have a stupid and unnecessary love triangle, i hate those most of the time, and this one was one of those. 

-The writing. not my kind of writing. it was flat and dull. 

We All Looked Up : 3/5

Leave a Reply

