Review : It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

“Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.
Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.”

  
This is such an important book and I absolutely love it! The story is truthful and honest. The way Vizzini describes depression is so moving and realistic. It had such a big impact on me, i feel like it’s going to stick with me for a very long time. The ending was a bit too much, but still very good. I liked how, even if it’s a dark subject, it is still pretty funny. It never get super heavy, it’s a wonderful book. I love Craig. He is relatable and real. I could connect to him easily. He is a great narrator. I enjoyed his voice very much. He is strong and kind and absolutely incredible. I also like all the people he meets at the hospital. They are all interesting characters. I did have a big problem with his other friends, they were pretty boring and empty. The writing is fantastic too. It’s the kind of style that I enjoy the most, simple and amazing. I just love it and really want to check out more of Ned Vizzini’s work. 

everybody should read this book, it’s amazing. 

It’s kind of a funny story : 4/5

Leave a Reply

