Review : The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

“Coldtown was dangerous, Tana knew. A glamorous cage, a prison for the damned and anyone who wanted to party with them.

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. And once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.”

  
I found myself really enjoying vampire books lately and i’m very happy about it. I used to love them a couple of years back, but had kind of an overdose.

Anyways, this was my first Holly Black novel and i can tell you right now that it won’t be my last. Her writing is absolutely stunning. some lines were so well-written that I had to stop and just reread it again. It’s been a while since I found a writing that had this effect on me. I’m so glad I decided to read this book. this was such an interesting take on the vampire genre, i really like the whole concept of a entire town being a cage for vampire. It had some slow parts, but I found it to be overall very entertaining and dark. Exactly was you would be expecting in a vanpire story. i did have problem with the romance, but mostly at the end. I’m just not a fan of instant love.. and i felt like this one has a bit too much. I did LOVE Tana and Gavriel, i like them both alone and together, i just think that the love came a bit to fast since they known eachother for like 3days. I also really dislike the side characters, the worst ones being Midnight and Winter. I think they are both stupid and annoying with barely any personality. 

this book was a great surprise and i really fell in love with Holly Black. 

The Coldest girl in Coldtown : 4/5

4 thoughts on “Review : The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

  1. victoriabriseno says:

    I bought this one when it was first released, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Definitely going to bump it up on my TBR especially since it sounds like a great Halloween read πŸ˜‰ Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

