Review : The Infernals (Samuel Johnson #2) by John Connolly

“Samuel Johnson is in trouble. Not only is he in love with the wrong girl, but the demon Mrs. Abernathy is seeking revenge on him for his part in foiling the invasion of Earth by the forces of evil. She wants to get her claws on Samuel, and when Samuel and his faithful dachshund, Boswell, are pulled through a portal into the dark realm, she gets her chance.”

  
This makes me sad to say, but i didn’t like this book. I was bored out of my mind for most of it, i couldn’t finish it. BUT, Connolly is a FANTASTIC writer. I love his writing style, it’s just that i could get into the story. I love the first book in the series, it was fun and original. This one didn’t work for me. I felt like the story was all over the place and going nowhere. I also felt like the characters were underdeveloped, which made it hard to care for them. I did enjoy how funny this book was, just like with The Gates, i found myself smilling at many parts. 

So, overall, i can not recommend this book, but you really should check out The Gates because it was amazing and you can take it as a standalone. I’m giving this book a 2/5 because, even if I dislike the storyline, the writing was fantastic! 

The Infernals : 2/5

3 thoughts on “Review : The Infernals (Samuel Johnson #2) by John Connolly

Leave a Reply

