Review : Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

i liked this book, i just didn’t find it mind blowing. This seems to happened with every book by Lauren Oliver i read, it always okay. I love the premise of this one, don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed the storyline and the concept, i do think it could have been shorter a little. I found myself being bored during some parts. Especially at first, the begining was really slow and it takes a little while for the story to really pick up. The ending was sad and good. I did wish we got some kind of explanation about why this was happening, but the story had a great conclusion. As for the characters, well, meh. Sam and her friends are your typical mean, annoying, popular girls. Which i always hate. Everytime they talked or acted, i wanted to punch them. I didn’t care much them, but i like their friendship (most if the them, i sometime asked myself why Sam was friend with some of them) I did love Lauren Oliver’s writing style, i just think some parts could have been shorter. 

I do think it will make a great movie, i’m excited to see it.

Before I Fall: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

