Horror – Interview with the Vampire (2022) – S1

In the year 2022, the vampire Louis de Pointe du Lac lives in Dubai and seeks to tell the story of his life or afterlife to renowned journalist Daniel Molloy. Beginning in early 20th-century New Orleans, Louis’ story follows his relationship with the vampire Lestat du Lioncourt and their formed family, including teen fledgling Claudia. Together, the vampire family endures immortality in New Orleans and beyond. As the interview continues in Dubai, Molloy discovers the truths beneath Louis’ story.


I’m going to start this review by saying I have never read the book and I have never seen the movie either. So, I knew nothing about it and the only reason I started this series was because one of my friend was watching and loving it. So, obviously, i cannot speak about how accurate of an adaptation this is.

What i can tell you is that i absolutely loved every second of it.

I think this series survives on the fact that the characters are intriguing. It’s all about them, and about their relationship, more so then the vampire aspect, i think. Louis was such a great character. I thought he was well written, and I like how many elements went into his character. In this version, Louis is a black gay businessman in the early 20th century. It opened the door to the topic of race and sexuality, and you see him struggle with those during the whole series. Everything you see him go through after his transformation is heartbreaking and you really want him to be okay in the end. I know I wanted to give him a big hug a couple times. His relationship with Lestat is at the center of the series and the way it unfolds is incredibly well done. I know it was toxic as hell, but I’m not going to lie, i found myself smiling at some of their little moments. Lestat is a monster, but an interesting one. It’s always great when the villain in the story has dimension and depth, he’s not just bad for being bad. Claudia was a great addition to the story. I absolutely love her! Her character growth from her first appearance to the final episode is incredible, going from innocent child to badass women. it was pleasure to watch!

and when you put all 3 together, you get this strange little family. I loved each scenes that included all 3 of them. The acting was flawless, this cast was perfect in every way and i’m now obsessed with all of them. Bailey Bass, who plays Claudia, was stealing every scene she was in. She was soooo good! Especially in that last episode. BRAVO.

The series is also really well made. I love it when film maker make horror look beautiful and i really think they did a good job with that here. It looks so good. The costumes, the sets, the music, the light, it all came together perfectly. It’s particularly visible in that last episode, it made my little heart happy.

The finale left me wanting more! I’m so happy the show is coming back for a second season because i cannot wait to see what happens next.

INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE – SEASON 1 : 4/5

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑