Review : Burning Down The House by Zoe J. Stark

In the picture-perfect Cotswolds, the not-so-perfect Saint family all have enemies, but which one of them burned down their house?

Scarlett’s Dad abandoned her Mum, and they went through a long custody battle. His girlfriend, Kirsten, accused a local politician of sexual harassment. Her granny had a lifelong feud with the neighbour from hell. And Scarlett got somebody fired. After receiving death threats, their home goes up in flames, leaving the Saint family homeless. But the official investigation concludes it’s not arson. If nineteen-year-old Scarlett Saint can’t get her head out of the clouds to find who did it, they will lose everything.

Both comical and poignant, Burning Down the House is an unputdownable mystery with a hint of the supernatural, that will linger long after reading.


  • I received this book from NetGalley and in exchange for an honest review
  • Release date : 1 December 2022

It was really hard for me to actually finish this book. When i got halfway I was pretty much done with it, i kept going just to see how it would end. This one is a bit weird because it is really, really slow, yet there is so much packed into the story line. The mystery was intriguing enough and i think she did an overall good job building up to the reveal. And since this is the only thing that kept me going, i have to give it some credit. I always like a good who done it. I just feel like this one was bloated with so many different elements, they just got lost within each other. So many of these elements could have been cut out and the story would easily still work. It would for sure help with the pacing issue I had with it. Some of the reveal’s did surprised me, while other fell pretty flat. Overall, the ending was okay.

My other big problem with this book was the characters. There is not one lovable person in this story, not one person to connect too, and this makes it soooo hard to get invested or care about the story. Scarlett is our main girl and i have to say, i found her so annoying. She was very self-centered and her reaction often made me want to roll my eyes. I think she was written in a way that made her feel alot younger then she is, so some of her action were just frustrating. None of the side characters were really memorable either. I did like some of the family interaction, but nothing to redeem the characters.

Sadly, lots of things that made it really hard for me to enjoy. I think maybe it needed more editing, it would have work better if it was shorter.

Burning Down The House : 2/5

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑