Review : The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.


I’m not going to lie ; i have no idea how to review this book.

I knew i was going to love it because V. E. Schwab has never disappointed me so far. but this was on an other level of perfection.

Lets start with the story. The concept itself was unique and interesting. Anything that has to do with deal with the devil is a win for me and the way she painted this was simply fascinating. The story really revolves around the characters and their life following the deal. It’s slow, it’s character driven, it’s almost like reading a biography and it works so well.

I think the reason why it work is because Schwab gives us those amazing characters to follow. Addie was such a good main character to have. I loved seeing her growth throughout the years as we read about her meeting and connected with a variety of different characters. Her voice was smart and interesting, but also vulnerable. I love her dance and chemistry with Luc and her relations with Henry. I’m so in love with her and her story. Henry was also great, i was immediately drawn to him and some of his inner monologue were extremely relatable to me. I just wanted to hug him and I adored his relationship with Addie. BUT, i’m not 100% convince it is love, i think they did have a good relationship, i think they did love each other, but i also think they needed each other more because of what was happening then being romantically connected. Whatever this was, it was what they both needed and i’m happy they had that. Now Luc ; Luc was probably one of my favorite part of this story. His character was super interesting and i love the banter between him and Addie. Their conversations were some of my favorite moments and i love watching their relationship change with each meetings. I also want to mention the side characters ; Addie’s different meetings during the years, Henry’s friends, they are all great too. This book is so flawless.

And all this is brought to life perfectly by Schwab’s writing. I think this might be her best written novel so far. It’s like each sentence is poetry and i was addicted to it. I just love how she paints emotions and feelings and how she can describe places and people. I don’t have the words to tell you all the love I have her.

So, finale review ; This book is perfect.

Extra points for having queer characters. ♥

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue : 5/5

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑